



Key historical information on the Exhibition

- 2025 marks the 61st edition of this national institution and the 25th anniversary of BT becoming the custodian, organiser and sponsor of the Young Scientist Exhibition.
- The BT Young Scientist & Technology Exhibition is the longest running STEM exhibition in Europe, inspiring 100,000 project entries from over 150,000 students.
- The Young Scientists' Exhibition was the brainchild of two University College Dublin Physics researchers,
 Rev Dr Burke and Dr Tony Scott. On a trip to the US in 1963 they discovered "science fairs" and tailored the idea for Ireland. The pair decided this type of hands-on science was something Irish students could benefit from, by taking science outside of the four walls of a classroom.
- The first competition was held in the Mansion House Round Room in Dublin in 1965, which attracted 230 entries.
- The first year was such a success, the exhibition moved to the much larger venue of the RDS and has remained there until the pandemic hit in 2021 and returned to the venue in 2023.
- BT has been the custodian, organiser and sponsor since 2000 and in that time has extensively developed the
 Exhibition with the addition of the Primary Science Fair, Bootcamp and an exciting festival of science that runs
 alongside the core exhibition each year.
- In 2001, BT introduced the Primary Science Fair which is developed in conjunction with the Department of Education to showcase primary school class projects at the BTYSTE. The Fair gives primary school children an opportunity to learn from the larger Exhibition and gain feedback from experts.
- BT launched its first BT Young Scientist Bootcamp in Dublin in 2010, an annual commercialisation course spun out of the exhibition, aimed at bridging the gap between education and business.
- In 2018, the first Young Scientist Exhibition in Kenya takes place and EUCYS is hosted in Ireland for the 2nd time in its 35 year history. The competition was hosted by the Young Scientist charitable trust and welcomed 134 students from 38 countries.
- The exhibition has also made an impact beyond Ireland, with the roll out of the Exhibition in Jordan, Kenya and UAE.
- In 2006, BT introduced an Accommodation Grant Scheme to help students and schools with expenses incurred when travelling to the exhibition. To date BT has awarded almost €1.5m to schools that are more than 70km from venue and for BTYSTE2025 extended the scheme to all DEIS schools.
- The physical event in the RDS attracts tens of thousands of people each year while the virtual event attracted a global audience of over 77 countries making it one of the largest events of its kind in Europe, if not the world! The virtual exhibition became a multiple award-winning show, winning both a PRII award and Covid Comms award.
- By 1990 the three established categories were Chemical, Physical and Mathematical Sciences; Social and Behavioural Sciences; Biological and Ecological Sciences.
- When BT took over the organisation and sponsorship of the Exhibition in 2000, they introduced the Technology category, which has proved one of the most popular categories for entries over the years.
- The BTYSTE eco-system is one of the finest examples of organisations working together towards the shared goal of driving STEM engagement in young people. Key partners include the Department of Education ROI, Analog Devices, AMGEN, RTÉ and Stripe.
- In 2015, the BTYSTE introduces Irish University Association scholarships for senior winners and An Post commissions a Young Scientist Commemorative Stamp which was unveiled at the exhibition in this year.







Key historical information on the Exhibition

- University bursaries have been secured for senior category winners with seven universities in the Republic of Ireland, bringing a third level opportunity for school students to continue their STEM education.
- · Aligned with our commitment to diversity and inclusion, BT has been working with several organisations to encourage greater diversity in STEM including Connecting Women in Technology, Teen Turn, and also disadvantaged schools.
- BTYSTE is a GAISCE Challenge Partner in ROI, allowing entrants to use their entry towards The GAISCE President's Award, and a partner of the Duke of Edinburgh Awards in NI.
- The 60th anniversary of the Young Scientist in 2024, was marked by the introduction of a new category, Health & Wellbeing.

Previous and notable winners:

- The first ever winner of the Young Scientist Exhibition was John Monahan from Newbridge College, Co. Kildare (1965). John has recently retired as President of his own biotech company, Avigen Inc, which raised over \$235 million through IPO on NASDAQ. John is now a judge at the exhibition.
- The first female winner was Mary Finn from the Ursuline Convent, Sligo (1966).
- Turan Mirza, William Murphy and Gareth Clarke from Carrickfergus Grammar School in Antrim were the first group team to win the Young Scientists of the Year title (1983).
- · Richard Elliot, from Portora Royal School, Enniskillen, was the first student from Northern Ireland to win Young Scientist of the Year (1974).
- · Our 2013 winners, Ciara Judge, Emer Hickey and Sophie Healy-Thow won the EU Contest for Young Scientists, the global Google Science Fair and were named in TIME magazine's "25 Most Influential Teens".
- Patrick Collison, a Limerick-winner from 2005, is the co-founder of Stripe, an online payment company based in the US which was most recently valued at \$95 billion. His brother John also entered and is now the world's youngest selfmade billionaire.
- Numerous entrants have developed their BTYSTE projects into commercial enterprises. These include Evervault, FenuHealth and Lios-Group.
- Today, overall winners go to the European Union Contest for Young Scientists (EUCYS) and other notable prize winners go to the USA for the International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF).
- In 2022, not only did Andrei Florian win a first place in category at ISEF but 2022 winners, Aditya Kumar and Aditya Joshi, won first place at EUCYS, the 17th time in the 35 year history of that event that Ireland have won first place.









